Broken Toes | 4 Steps of Treatment … that really work

I wish I could say I got kicked by a football player {which is how I sprained my finger}, or that I was running hard when I fell {which is how I broke my arm}…but the painful truth is, I walked into a chair.

It was somewhere around 6:30 in the morning… I was coming downstairs to make breakfast for the family. While passing through our school room, I stubbed my toe on one of the chair legs. Ouch! You know that type of pain that hurts so bad you feel paralyzed for a few moments? 

I’ve never seen a broken toe, and the idea hardly occurred to me. Looking back it was rather stupid on my part to limp around the house for the next 15 hours before checking again… and doubly foolish because I could feel it swelling up all day long, not to mention the extreme pain I was feeling! Somewhere around 9pm {as I was preparing to go to bed} I took off my sock and noticed the dark red line running lengthwise down my toe, and the purple/green/bluish color around the injured area. I was one of the few left up so rather than consulting my mom with the problem, I rubbed a little Sore Muscle Salve on, and went to bed.  🙂

The following morning I showed my mom. She is a retired physical therapist, and when she saw it, she immediately said “That is definitely a broken toe”. Really? I was … okay, thrilled 😉 . I mean, how often do toes get broken?

So Here’s How I Treated It 

1. Herbal Tea/Soak

_MG_8415

I found a few herbs that I had on hand, and made an herbal tea to soak my foot in. I mixed enough of the herbs to last several days, so I could soak my foot 1-2 times each day.

Comfrey {known as the “bone-knitting herb” – ideal for wounds, tears, or anything needing to grow back together}

Horsetail {a popular herb for hair, nail, and bone growth/health}

Red Raspberry Leaf {great for healing broken bones, and aids in circulation}

Nettle {for inflammation}

Lavender Flowers {one of my favorite herbs for relaxation, healing wounds, and preventing inflammation}.

{Arnica is a key herb that I was missing, but have used many times since for similar treatments. Arnica is my favorite herb for swelling/inflammation. I highly recommend using this as a larger part of the blend – along with the Comfrey – for injuries such as this one.}
Note. These are some of the herbs I had on hand that I found helpful, but there are others that may be effective, and/or more effective in similar treatment. I have recently developed my own bone and muscle herb blend {tea/soak} for injuries involving muscle strain, torn tissue, fractures, breaks, sprains, etc.

Purchase my Deep Healing Bone and Muscle Herb Blend HERE.

To make the tea, put about 1/2 cup of the herbal mixture in about 4 cups of boiling water {I used a 4-cup glass measuring cup}, and let it steep for 10-15 minutes. Then discard the herbs through a strainer {or leave them in the soak for maximum benefit}, pouring the tea into a clean bowl {large enough to put your foot in and submerge the affected area}. Add enough cold water to cover the area that you are treating. Soak for about 30 minutes to 1 hour.

This may be repeated (2 times daily) for however long the treatment process takes.

2. Deep Healing Essential Oils ~

“I used this oil on my broken toe. There was a piece chipped off – the doctor was skeptical (and I was seriously doubtful) that it would heal without surgery, but after 6 weeks of frequently applying this oil and wrapping the toe, x-rays have confirmed that it’s completely healed! The oil smells wonderful and the shipping was super fast. Thanks!!” – B. King

_MG_0301

Following the herbal tea {foot soak}, I rubbed some {100% Pure} Essential Oils on my toe. My mom had an Essential Oil Blend from a friend which I used the last few drops of {and then it ran out}. The following day I began using Essential Oils of Helichrysum {great for swelling/inflammation, circulation, pain, bruising, and healing scars}, Wintergreen {a wonderful natural pain reliever, ideal for broken bones, circulation, inflammation, and wounds.} and Lavender {Relaxes, soothes pain, heals wounds, and helps with circulation.}. I would rub these on 2-3 times daily – following the tea foot soak treatment, and prior to bandaging.

As is the case with all of my products… each one has a story as to why it was created. And this is where my Deep Healing Oil blend resulted from. 🙂

Purchase my Deep Healing Oil Here

3. Herbal Salves ~

After soaking my foot in the tea, and rubbing on the essential oils, I put a generous amount of Sore Muscle Salve and Healing Salve on my toe {and surrounding area}, and then bandaged it with clean gauze and bandage tape.

Sore Muscle Salve contains a large amount of Arnica, Plantain, and Comfrey… herbs which are excellent for reducing and eliminating swelling/inflammation, binding up breaks and fractures, and natural pain relief.

Purchase Sore Muscle Salve HERE.

Healing Salve contains herbs that are both soothing and calming {providing pain relief and relaxing tense muscles}, as well as anti-inflammatory {reducing and eliminating swelling/inflammation}, and healing {binding up injured, broken, and torn areas.

Purchase Healing Salve HERE.

To bandage, place a piece of gauze between the broken toe and another toe, and tape the two toes together {bandage tape}.

Overview

I broke my toe on Tuesday morning. I went all day without treatment {except for a little salve that i rubbed on that evening when my toe had already become swollen, bruised, and <still> extremely painful}.

Wednesday I took measures to treat my injury – the tea, followed by salves and oils. I continued treatment the following days until everything felt normal again.

Thursday I was feeling *so much* better – very little pain.

Sunday I felt pretty much back to normal – gently walking around with minimal pressure to my injured toe – including small outings. I continued to apply the salves and oils for safety precaution and to ensure complete healing…

My mom used a tuning fork to test my toe for pain. Pain should have indicated that the outer layer of my bone was injured {fractured}, because it is the most sensitive part, and the vibration would have HURT. There was NO pain. I can bend my toe and wiggle it. I have tried carefully walking the normal way, and it feels fine.

Monday I was out running errands all day as if there had never been a problem in the first place. 

no swelling

no pain. I have not had ANY pain since day 2, once I started treating my toe with soothing herbs and oils.

Off on a 19 Mile Hiking Trip…!

Check out part 2 and part 3 – which herbal remedies I took along on our 3 day backpacking trip the following week, and  my overall experience after 19 miles of hiking {backpacking} on my toe. 🙂

IMG_6963

Get the Whole Collection

Check out my deep healing collection – the 4 products I used in this post to treat my broken toe, and more recently for a mysterious ankle injury that occurred on Christmas day.

Get the Deep Healing Collection

{Note: I never had X-rays, or saw a doctor, so there is no actual proof that my toe was broken… my mom has medical experience so I am trusting her judgment…. and the pain and symptoms that I’ve experienced from various bone injuries in the past – both with and without x-rays.}

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, and my products are not approved by the FDA. This information is based on my own research, study, and personal experience. This information is not intended (and should not be used) to diagnose, treat, or take the place of medical treatment prescribed by a doctor or medical professional.

Share your thoughts...

