Equipped for the Wilderness…

Tomorrow I’m heading off to the mountains with part of my family. We’ll be spending 3 days in the wilderness, with only the absolute essentials in our backpacks…

IMGP0026 (3)

I’m bringing a few of my favorite remedies along {despite the fact that space is very limited}. It never hurts to be prepared 🙂 …

1. Lavender Oil {I infused dried Lavender Buds in Olive Oil and Coconut Oil}

Lavender is one of my top favorite herbs, and a must-have for every household. The essential oil can be rubbed on feet {to prevent sickness}, or on the neck {for a sore throat}. When diluted, it is ideal for burns, and can not only reduce the healing time but prevent scarring and relieve pain. I love it for any type of scrape, scratch, bruise, or wound. I use it on sore muscles and broken bones to relieve pain and promote relaxation…

{Note 1: Never apply a large amount of undiluted essential oils without first testing a small amount on the skin. This is referred to as applying “neat”. Those with sensitive skin may find that it burns. The safest way is to dilute slightly with a small amount of carrier oil – I usually use Coconut and Olive oil.}
 {Note 2: Essential oils should never be applied to eyes, and careful steps should be taken before using internally. Do not use undiluted essential oils on broken skin.}

2. Pure Helichrysum Essential Oil

I’m bringing this one, because I broke my toe last week. It still feels a little sore when I do a lot of walking, and I’ll be hiking all day for 3 days straight. I like to use a few drops 1-2 times daily, applied neat {without diluting in a carrier oil} on my toe and the surrounding area. I usually put it on after the Sore Muscle and Healing Salve.

Helichrysum Essential Oil is one of my favorites for bruising, swelling/inflammation, and for increasing circulation. It’s also amazing for skin, and can be used to prevent sunburn!

3. Sore Muscle Salve

I’m taking this for sore shoulders, sore backs, sore ankles, sore knees…

After a long day of hiking this stuff feels good! I’ll use it on my toe before bed, so that I’m ready to hike again the next morning.

Sore Muscle Salve is full of herbs and essential oils that prevent/reduce swelling/inflammation, relieve pain, promote relaxation, aid in circulation, and heal.

4. Healing Salve

I use this for everything. Bumps, bruises, bites, stings, scrapes, scratches… It contains Coconut Oil and Olive Oil, as well as a variety of herbs that heal, relax, relieve pain, prevent swelling/inflammation…

I keep this with me pretty much all the time, because things happen when least expected… and it works wonders!

5. Cayenne Pepper

I’ve never actually used Cayenne medicinally, with the exception of making {and drinking} some Cayenne Pepper Lemonade when I had a cold. It worked well, but that’s not why I’m taking it with me this weekend. I’ve heard that it works really well to stop bleeding. I know that it can be taken internally {like in a glass of water} for heart issues, and is very helpful for improving circulation. I know that it also works well for headaches and migraines {which my sister has often}. So… I’m putting it on my list 🙂 .

If it were summer, I’d include some Bug Bite Salve {for such memorable incidents as walking through fields of sting-weed full of buzzing bumblebees…}, which works wonders with pain and swelling. And If my Arnica weren’t still in the mail I’d definitely bring some oil along {which was quite useful on our last trip, when my dad had a sore, out-of-place ankle}… however, I LOVE the Sore Muscle Salve because it contains Arnica AND lots of other incredible ingredients.
{Note: Arnica should never be taken internally or applied to broken skin.}
 

Enjoy this lovely weekend!

🙂 🙂 🙂 …

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, and my products are not approved by the FDA. This information is based on my own research, study, and personal experience. This information is not intended (and should not be used) to diagnose, treat, or take the place of medical treatment prescribed by a doctor or medical professional.

Share your thoughts...

