My #1 Favorite Essential Oil

I grew up hearing about Essential Oils. Friends … of friends … of friends used them for different health issues, but it never really meant much to me personally. I did not have the faintest idea of where to get the good ones, which kinds to use for what, and how to apply them.essential oil

Then one night I watched my sister take a tiny jar of Essential Oil out of the cabinet and put it on her feet just before bed. When I asked her what she was doing, she replied, “This stuff is supposed to help allergies, and prevent colds.” And so the day came when I tried it for myself… and let’s just say there was no turning back.

My # 1 favorite Essential Oil is Lavender…and that is not because I enjoy wearing the smell to bed 😉 . Rather,  I cannot count the number of times I have dumped it on a burn, slathered it (in salve) on a cut, rubbed it on skin, applied it to little brothers and sisters for one reason or another…and just thanked God that I had a bottle on hand when I needed it.

Here are a few reasons why everyone should have some Lavender on hand ~

– Relieves headaches and migraines

– Reduces swelling and inflammation

– Soothes burns (apply neat – after running the burn under cold water for a while – without diluting, because any base oil will trap the heat in and cause more damage)

– Prevents scarring

– Calms and relaxes

– Can bring relief from stress-related problems, including depression, anxiety, and restlessness

– Helps with Insomnia (trouble sleeping)

– Refreshes and invigorates

– Alleviates dandruff, and can prevent hair loss/help with hair growth – use as a scalp rub/massage

– Great for sunburns or stings  (so keep some handy for family hikes or outdoor activities!)

– Great for Skin rashes, diaper rashes, Ezcema and Acne

– Use as a deoderant

– Put a little in some water to rub on the neck and forehead for a fever

– Works great on sore muscles or joint pain – put some in a base oil to massage, or rub a few drops on a sore area

– Put a few drops in a bowl of steaming water, and then place a towel over your head. Inhale the vapors with your eyes shut, for relief from cold or flu symptoms – sore throat, congestion, etc.

– Use for wounds and cuts to relieve pain, bring speedy healing, and prevent scarring

– Use as bug repellant

– Good for urinary disorders, cramping, and can help restore hormonal imbalance

– Helps with asthma, bronchitis, laryngitis, tonsillitis, and congestion (see above where I mentioned cold and flu symptoms as well)

Lavender herb and essential oil

And the list goes on…

 

Are you convinced? I think building this list inspired me all over again.

 

 

2 thoughts on “My #1 Favorite Essential Oil

Share your thoughts...

