Eating Healthy…

My family eats pretty healthy… We often serve vegetables with lunch and dinner, and we make most of our IMG_5742meals from scratch…

So when I started working on the project for my Herbal Course, I thought it would be pretty easy… and 9 hours later – here’s my menu! I’m so happy it’s finished, that I decided I should be brave and share it…

Feel free to comment. I’d like to know where I went wrong, or what I could have done to make it better. The project assignment was to try and make a healthy menu with all the correct percentages of fats, carbohydrates and proteins, and then to make notes, based on my end results. The problem is, that meant breaking down the fat, carbs, and protein in each ingredient of each meal… and I like to cook with lots of ingredients!

It was super challenging, but really fun! I have to say that I learned a lot! In fact, my siblings are tired of hearing Fresh-Veggies-istock-photo-1.24.11me talk about all the nutritional components of an avocado, and how much salad they should put on their plate  rather than eating seconds on pasta. But… I still like pizza and ice-cream. I’m convinced I always will ;-).

This diet doesn’t apply to everyone. Not everyone eats the same amount of food, or the same number of calories. Guys need a lot more calories than girls; growing kids will probably eat a lot more than full-grown adults; some people with special health complications need less carbohydrates, or don’t do well with white sugar… and the list goes on. This is just a basic menu based on a 2000 calorie diet. You’ll see percentages worked out each day for carbohydrates, proteins, and fat, as well as the total calories. I tried to put foods on that our family eats or would enjoy, but that are still healthy…

2 thoughts on “Eating Healthy…

  1. WOW Sarah, that was a big assignment…but it does look like it was a lot of fun. You did a fantastic job! Praise God, for the love of learning He has given you, and how He is daily adding to your wisdom, stature and favor with God and man! 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts...

