Clove Bud | A Natural Pain Killer… and So Much More!

I have to say that the first “natural pain killer” I learned about what Peppermint. I love Peppermint for any type of muscle or joint pain, as well as for a calming and clearing effclove_canstockphoto2905146_smallect on inflammation and congestion. But somehow I had learned that Clove Bud is also an excellent pain reliever, and I had heard that it could be used very effectively for oral problems… which I have had a few of in my lifetime 😉

The first time I used Clove Bud oil in my mouth was about a year ago. A large part of my gum just above my to wisdom tooth was swollen and inflamed. There was tremendous pressure leading to discomfort and then pain. I felt like my gum was going to burst if I didn’t do something right away…

So I grabbed some Clove Bud oil and rubbed it on… but I had forgotten that like all essential oils, this one was strong… and Clove Bud is especially spicy! Hey it worked! My mouth was on fire for about 5 minutes and then the pain was gone – and with it all feeling in my mouth – entirely. It’s a great pain-number for sure! And about 20 minutes later the swelling began to go down, and several hours later there was no evidence that there had ever been a problem!

{Note: I am not recommending that you ever apply Clove Bud essential oil (or any essential oil) orally, without first diluting it!} Some say you can treat a toothache by placing 2-3 drops of the clove bud essential oil directly on the tooth… proceed at your own risk – if it burns, I’ll try not to say “I told you so 😉 …

Recently I had the occasion to mix up some Clove Bud oil for my sister’s mouth ulcer. I say mix up, because this time I remembered to dilute it properly – using more olive oil than clove bud essential oil 🙂 . I had to test it a few times to get it right, so that it would not burn her mouth 😉 … but it was neat because I had a little pain on my gum as well (similar to the area where I had experience the problem before, only on the other side of my mouth) and thought it would be helpful to “treat” myself as well.

I used somewhere around 4 parts (Olive Oil) to 1 part (Clove Bud oil), which may be a little beyond comfortable for most people! The more clove bud you can handle, the better, so try a little and see what works for you. It is best to avoid getting it on your tongue and other areas of your mouth if possible – although you can rub a little olive oil (or other carrier oil) on your tongue or other parts of your mouth if it is too strong and you find that it is burning. Try to carefully apply it to the “injured” or “problem” spot – and I am recommending this based on my personal experience with mouth ulcers, pain, and inflammation… I would not suggest applying a strong essential oil like this to cuts inside the mouth or broken skin! Clove Bud can be very effective for wounds but this requires a much stronger dilution ratio.

And while we’re on the topic of Clove Bud Oil, check this out! Here are just a few other fun facts – reasons why I love Clove Bud Essential Oil, use it all the time, and put it in quite a few of my herbal products ~

 

It has anti-fungal, anti-viral, anti-bacterial, anti-infectious, antiseptic, anti-parasitic, anti-aging, anticoagulant, anti-inflammatory, and analgesic properties! Wow… that covers pain, swelling/inflammation, bacteria/infections/viruses… and more 🙂

It has the largest antioxidant value of any other single known essential oil. It’s ORAC (antioxidant capacity) is 1,078,700… compare that to Spinach which is only 1,260… or according to one doctor, 1 drop of CLOVE oil = 2 lb. of carrots, 2 quarts of blueberries, or 2 cups of beet juice!!!

It has a warming effect, which can be really nice for someone experiencing pain or inflammation… 

It can help improve memory

It is approved as an anesthetic by the American Dental Association

It is one of the oils used in the Thieves essential oil blend… which is an incredible germ killer!

What’s not to love about Clove Bud Oil?

Because Clove Bud Essential Oil is considered a hot oil, it should be carefully diluted according to age and circumstance. A little goes a long way! Whether adding a few drops to some herbal oil for a wound… diluting some for a toothache…or putting some into your lotion or muscle rub… it is an excellent oil that is powerful in treating a variety of problems!

Happily, my gum healed up quickly… grateful for Clove Bud, Lavender, and Tea Tree oils 🙂

 

Share your thoughts...

