Maple Shortbread

Good morning! Today started off very early, so I thought I’d share this post that I put together last night.  🙂

It’s definitely feeling more and more like Fall here! Oh joy… I love the glorious cool mornings and evenings, the color beginning to show in a few leaves here and there… sweaters and long-sleeved shirts pulled out from the attic… the appearance of all things pumpkin, spiced apple, and maple, in the stores… warm campfires (okay, maybe I’m getting just a little ahead of myself). 😉

Fall is definitely my favorite time of year!! 🙂

Yesterday was natural dessert day, and I had few precious moments to make something for the family… so I grabbed a few ingredients that we had on hand and made up something quick and simple.

_MG_1851

Maple Shortbread

3 sticks (1 1/2 cups) butter, softened

3 cups flour

3/4 cup pure  maple syrup

2 teaspoons vanilla

3/4 cup quick oats

Grease/oil a 9×13″ baking pan. Spread the shortbread dough into the bottom of the pan, pressing down evenly. Prick with a fork. Bake at 325 degrees for about 22 minutes, or until the edges are slightly golden brown.

Remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes. Drizzle 1/4 cup maple syrup over the bars, then cool before serving.

_MG_1866

_MG_1867

_MG_1870

 

 

3 thoughts on “Maple Shortbread

  1. With a father who LOVES shortbread, I was really excited when I saw this email come into my inbox. I made it for dessert tonight (adding 3/4 cup of chopped pecans, and 1/2 teaspoon sea salt) and it was a definite success — loved by everyone! Thank you so much for sharing this, Sarah… once again your recipes brought great joy to the Neely Team!
    Blessings on your evening.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

