Peppermint and Lemon | Stomach Pain

Maybe it was due to a poor night of sleep last night… or maybe it was the result of some ‘exciting’ circumstances that left me feeling somewhat drained.

I spent the better part of today feeling rather sick to my stomach. The kind of sick that’s really more of a subtle and dull ache – one that hardly qualifies as ‘pain’ but brings just enough discomfort to drive a person crazy. One brother had to finish my breakfast for me because I thought I might lose it if I took another bite…

But for some reason I wanted lots of water… which really left my stomach feeling rather worse off – you know the feeling of drinking lots of water but not being hungry, and then feeling like the inside of you is a swimming pool? 😉

And so I spent a good part of the morning sleeping…  :-0

Did you know that peppermint and lemon can help soothe a stomach ache?

Herbs-and-lemon

Peppermint is a natural pain reliever, and can be an excellent aid in soothing stomach aches.

“Oil of peppermint contains up to 78 percent menthol. Menthol encourages bile (a fluid secreted by the liver) to flow into the duodenum, where it promotes digestion. Menthol also is a potent antispasmodic; in other words, it calms the action of muscles, particularly those of the digestive system.” – source.

And lemon… well, lemons seems to be good for just about everything! Seriously… check out this post that I wrote a while back.

So this afternoon I put some lemon juice and a drop of peppermint essential oil in my water – it was refreshing and calming. It helped relieve some of the ache.  I was able to accomplish some things and take a walk with one sister through our neighborhood.

_MG_9866

<a walk through the neighborhood… visiting with relatives Summer 2014>

1 drop of peppermint essential oil = 28 cups of peppermint tea!

Don’t ever underestimate the power of an essential oil… I promise it really only takes 1 little drop.   🙂

You may even want to  put 1 or 2 drops in a small pitcher full. And be sure that you are using a good quality pure essential oil (mine happens to be Organic) that is safe for taking internally.

Share your thoughts...

