Gluten-Free Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies

Remember this post?

Once upon a time I pinned a yummy-looking cookie recipe to my Evernote folder… you know, one of those ‘someday’ projects for a rainy sort of day? 😉

_MG_7898

Well last week I stumbled across it again while searching for some ideas on what to make for my family next. But since I had already made something yummy (which we had already enjoyed that day!) I baked up a big batch to sample and then mail to a friend.

And that’s how the story goes.

_MG_7901

Of course I hadn’t counted on the fact that it would take 6 days for my friend to get the cookies (despite the fact that I shipped them Priority 2-3 day). But I was glad that I left 2 out to sample several days later, so that I could see how fresh they still tasted.

And that’s one of the reasons I love this cookie so much! I think it actually tasted *better* 6 days later, than the evening I baked them up. So incredibly soft, moist, chewy, sweet… none of that undesirable ‘aftertaste’ that is often associated with gluten free baking.

_MG_7905

So here it is {with several small changes… }! Enjoy. 🙂

Gluten Free Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies

1 cup oat flour

3/4 cup fresh ground brown rice flour

1/4 cup tapioca starch (also called tapioca flour)

1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 stick butter, melted and kept warm

1/3 cup molasses (not blackstrap molasses)

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup sugar, plus more for rolling the cookies

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

_MG_7904

Instructions:

1. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and stir with a spoon or spatula until thoroughly combined. {The batter will be soft and sticky.}

2. Place the dough in a small bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Chill for several hours until very firm.

3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray or oil the cookie sheets well. Get a bowl of sugar ready for rolling the dough balls in.

4. Scoop the cookies into 1″ balls {or slightly bigger} – a spring-loaded cookie dough scooper works wonders! Roll each ball in sugar {all the way around} and place at least 2″ apart on cookie sheets.

5. Bake the cookies {1 sheet at a time} for about 7-9 minutes {rotating the pan after 5 minutes to ensure even baking} until puffed and cracked. The dough between the cracks may look a little under baked, but the edges will look set. If they do not firm as they settle {while cooling}, return to the oven and bake a few minutes longer. Be *sooooooo* careful not to over bake these! If they look like they are done, chances are they are over baked and may be crunchy when they cool.

6. Let cool slightly, until firm enough to transfer to cooling racks. Use a thin metal spatula to remove from the pans to the cooling racks. Cool completely {the cookies will still be baking from residual heat}, then store at room temperature in an airtight container.

_MG_7917

Not sure what the shelf life is… but I do know that I ate one 6 days later and it was *delicious*! I think my sweet friend is still enjoying the big box I sent {at least I hope so because there were like 30 (?) in there and they arrived yesterday} … 😉

_MG_7913

Enjoy!!

P.S. If you read yesterday’s post {One Year Ago Part 2}, part 3 is coming later next week!!

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies

Share your thoughts...

