Thankful

I’m. so. grateful… grateful for the gift of eternal salvation – for the precious relationship that I have with Jesus Christ. I’m grateful for the hope that I have each and every day – that His {Father’s} mercies are new this morning… and again all over tomorrow. I’m grateful for sweet kind friends who speak encouraging words, write me thoughtful notes, and send me I’m-thinking-of-you gifts. I’m grateful for sunshine, for sweet potato casserole that I baked this morning 😉 , for the family we will be visiting with later today and again tomorrow… I’m. so. grateful.

_MG_8678

My list could go forever. My gratitude journal will never be too full. Because each and every day there are new things to be grateful for. There are things to be grateful for that I don’t even know to be thankful for – those moments when God was watching over me and I had no idea that I was in danger… those times when events were orchestrated for me that I would never had known to be so important and life-changing… times when He closed doors and opened other doors – and I would not have known that there was a better opportunity because I was so focused on that first ‘good’ thing that I wanted so very much…

“It is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits, and humbly to implore His protection and favor.” – George Washington

_MG_2560

“Pride slays thanksgiving, but a humble mind is the soil of which thanks naturally grows. A proud man is seldom a grateful man, for he never thinks he gets as much as he deserves.” – Henry Ward Beecher

_MG_2155

“We tend to take all the gifts and pleasures and happiness and the joy without saying much to God. We take our health and strength, our food and clothing and our loved ones, all for granted; but the moment anything goes wrong we start grumbling and complaining and we say, ‘Why should God do this to me, why should this happen to me?’ How slow we are to thank and swift to grumble.” – Martyn Lloyd-Jones

Simon | Nigeria

to be thankful. for. everything  – Jos, Nigeria 2008>

This morning a sweet friend emailed me a note of encouragement – and I was reminded again that while today is a day of celebration and thanksgiving for our nation, we ought not to take for granted *every moment of every day* – each of which are opportunities to be grateful, and to express our thankfulness to God and each other.

IMG_2172_2

I’m sure today holds special and unique traditions for everyone – for my family the morning started off a little later 😉 with brunch, food preparations (for a thanksgiving meal later today) … and putting up Christmas decorations around the house {ah yes, and the majority of us are still in our pajamas 😉 !}.

It’s a good day. 🙂

Wishing you a very blessed and joy-filled Thanksgiving – from my family to yours!

IMG_2163

<October 2014>

P.S. Come see me at the show this Saturday!!

P.P.S. Don’t forget! *Everything* in the shop is 15% off through this weekend!

Share your thoughts...

