To a Man That I Love

Happy birthday to one of the most special guys in my life. ❤

IMG_2390

A man who leads and guides me in wisdom; who listens when I need to share my heart – and understands what I’m feeling; who encourages me with truth when I’m feeling down; who tells me that He loves me, and lives it out through his actions; who has patiently taught me everything from math and chemistry to woodworking and wilderness survival, to doctrine and a deeper understanding of God’s Word; who has been the world’s best boss from the beginning of my 10 years as secretary/office manager; who faithfully prays for me everyday and keeps a little journal to me; who is always there to answer a question or provide counsel and advice… and always seems to have a word of encouragement or profound wisdom.

IMG_2255

He is the most faithful and loving man to his wife and children; always encourages us to trust God, even when times are hard and I know he’s wrestling; puts family first before work and self; is faithfully involved with our family – spending time, planning activities, leading us in devotions every single morning; helping us keep our schedules organized, taking time out of his work to problem solve or work on relationship-building; and he has a big heart for ministry and discipleship, so much so that he has touched the lives of hundreds and thousands in ways he will never even know about.

_MG_0722

He is the one who helped me battle my way through Algebra and Geometry, so that I could finally begin to love math … and teach it; who stood beside me in my early business endeavors, when I decided to take up beekeeping at 10 years of age; who took me on my first backpacking trip as a little girl… and now I’m hopelessly addicted to our yearly backpacking trips; who taught me how to shoot a handgun, paint a wall, and build a retaining wall; who bore through my lengthy efforts to experiment with healthier cooking and baking; who “knows everything” and whose presence somehow seems to “fix everything” …

IMG_7791

Happy birthday to a man that I want very much to be like, in more ways than I can count; whose wisdom, patience, gentleness, diligence, faith, sensitivity, courage, and love for God and family, inspire me to become more of the person that God has created me to be.

Thank you for seeking out my heart, protecting and keeping it; for loving me too much to leave me to my own way; for always striving to do what was best for me, even when it didn’t feel like love… for making me feel protected, secure, and treasured, in a way that many daughters never will. I’m so grateful that you are my dad – more than you could ever know.

_MG_8828

I love you Daddy! I can’t wait to get home from FL today, so I can celebrate with the family!

❤ your little muffin 🙂

3 thoughts on “To a Man That I Love

  1. ESTIMADO HERMANO EN CRISTO: LE DESEAMOS UN MUY BENDECIDO CUMPLEAÑOS, QUE DIOS SIGA BENDICIENDO SU VIDA COMO HASTA AHORA Y LE AÑADA MAS AÑOS. LO SALUDAMOS CON LA PAZ DE NUESTRO SEÑOR Y SALVADOR JESUCRISTO. BENDICIONES DESDE BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Sarah – this was a special message to wake up to this morning, and you are a very special daughter. We are all looking forward to having you back home today!

    P.S. I’ve been using the breath oil and balm for a cold I’m fighting. Great stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

