Simple Home Remedies for a Sore Throat

Something’s going around.

It hit a few of the volunteers during the Florida prison ministry last week. Several had sore throats and other symptoms which led them to stay back at the camp and rest for a day or two. At the same time several here in my family weren’t feeling too well … and suddenly a bunch of my friends were talking about their own sickness and the symptoms they were fighting.

It makes sense that when we’re weak, exhausted, and worn out our bodies would be more vulnerable and susceptible to sickness. In FL my days started around 4:30 or 5 am {simply because sharing a room with 10 other girls involves creatively working out the shower and mirror schedule 😉 …and a couple were up to prepare breakfast for the crowd long before others} and ended somewhere between 11 pm and 12:30 am {depending on which nights we opted to sleep vs. play volleyball or talk about the day, etc.}.

So you can imagine a few of us were tired by the 9th day. When I came home there was an abundance of work piled high on my desk. Thanks to those who made my load much lighter than it should have been, I spent quite a few chunks of afternoons power-napping… 🙂

And then “it” hit me.

The something that was/is going around. Friday evening I felt that my body was trying to fight “something” off. You know the feeling in your throat that quickly leads to a sore throat in a matter of hours?

That night I slept very little due to throat congestion. By morning my throat felt the same {good news but let’s nail this thing altogether!}, so I continued taking various remedies {including some new ones} and throughout the day it improved greatly.

The thing is, I never actually got a sore throat. I felt the slow negative progression, followed by rapid positive improvement… and then the second stage of “it” where nasal congestion follows {although I was able to prevent this as well}. By Sunday it felt like the battle was over. The process of wrestling with oncoming symptoms resulted in total normality, simply by being faithful in a few little things.

So here they are! A few of my favorite remedies for successfully preventing and/or reducing a sore throat and congestion {nasal or throat}:

1. Apple Cider Vinegar

Home-Made-Apple-Cider-Vinegar

This is #1 on my to-do list when I feel like I’m getting sick. Don’t ask  me why, it just always seems to be among the most powerful for “washing away” those oncoming symptoms.

Mix 2-3 teaspoons of Apple Cider Vinegar {preferably raw, organic, with the “mother} into 6-8 oz water. You can use warm water and add some honey if you prefer {I have learned to drink simply the vinegar in water and eventually the taste becomes something along the lines of sour lemonade}.

I like to do this 2 times daily {although step #4 is my new preferred method for taking Apple Cider Vinegar, in which case I will simply do that 2 times daily}.

2. Honey

honey

The antibacterial properties in raw honey make it excellent for a sore throat! I love to let it sit in my mouth for a minute, swallowing just a tiny bit at a time. It gives my throat a nice coating that greatly reduces the severity of the soreness {given that I already have a sore throat}. For this reason I generally take the spoonful of honey last {or all my remedies}, or just before bed, etc.3.

I like to take a spoonful of honey 2-3 times daily {usually twice following step #4 and once more separately}.

3. Lemon, Peppermint & Lavender Essential Oil

619ab8_0ef9fb25720349b8a9c35ba393209d12.jpg_srz_630_630_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

I originally put these three together for my allergies. And wow do they work! But something I’ve learned is that rubbing this blend of oils on my neck/throat area can really help with congestion, excess mucous, coughing, and sore throat.

This time I had the brilliant idea to take some internally. I took a q-tip and dipped it in the blend of 3 oils that I had put together {a few drops of each works great in a little medicine cup or bowl – this way you can use it several times throughout the day} – then rubbed it straight onto both of my tonsils. Repeat several times daily – once every hour or 2 hours is great. I found that this seemed to (1) numb my tonsils a little which is great when you’re sore! (2) clean out my throat, reducing my throat congestion. I think this was a big factor in preventing my sore throat!

I like to do this every couple of hours, or even just several times daily. I do need to stress the importance of purchasing high-quality essential oils that can be safely taken internally. Many of the essential oils available today are not pure, or are adulterated in some way and therefore may be dangerous if taken internally.

4. The WOW drink

homemade cough remedy 1 - tall

Okay, this one is really fun! So don’t look at it, just throw all the ingredients into a little cup. Don’t smell it, just drink it in one big gulp and … mmmm… eat a big yummy spoonful of honey right away!

– 2 teaspoons Apple Cider Vinegar {preferrably raw, organic, with the “mother}

– The juice of 1/2 lemon

– 1/16 teaspoon Cinnamon {I just dumped some in}

– 1/16 teaspoon Cayenne pepper {I just dumped some in}

Stir with a spoon to get the lumps of powder smoothed out.

Be sure to swish the honey around in your mouth, swallowing a little at a time. That way you don’t feel the heat of the spices as much. The honey is an amazing way to get this down!

I like to do this 2-3 times daily, once in the morning and evening, and sometimes mid-day as well.

And y’all, that’s it!

I’ve lost count of how many times little remedies like this have prevented an oncoming sore throat. In years past I used to take my garlic and vinegar 1-2 times daily and then say “oh well, I tried!” But more and more I am finding these amazing remedies from things that God created. And wow does it pay to get well, and stay well!

Of course our bodies all respond differently, and there are situations where we will get those undesirable sick symptoms despite all of our careful measures of prevention and treatment. But because I love it when these simple ingredients make a difference in my life, I hope they can make a difference in yours too. 🙂

P.S. Check out this other amazing wellness plan – something I tried at my brother’s suggestion, which successfully prevented me from catching a bad sickness that was going around our home.

2 thoughts on “Simple Home Remedies for a Sore Throat

  1. Wow, this came just when I needed it! 🙂 Faith and I both woke up with a little bit of a sore throat/nasal congestion this morning…and I was thinking of which remedies would be most helpful. 🙂 Thanks for sharing! ~Anna Joy Psalm 34:5

    Like

Share your thoughts...

