Spring Planting

It’s a lovely, extraordinary day! Bright, sunny, warm, breezy beautiful … Ah, I love it!

One brother {David} has been diligently preparing the vegetable garden so that we can get all our healthy little plants into the ground before they explode right out of their containers! We are blessed by the abundance of rain we have received, but also grateful and thrilled to see the sun shining brightly again!

IMG_2123

This lil’ farmer and I have been busily working to get my herbs into the ground! Last year’s experimental herb garden provided the motivation and excitement for a much larger project this year. It has been a long-time goal of mine to grow and harvest fresh herbs from my garden for the products that I make! Last year I experimented with a pretty wide variety of herbs, but this year I’m focusing on an abundance of just a few top herbs that I use larger quantities of in my business.

IMG_2128

Several weeks ago I planted Peppermint, Lavender, Comfrey, Plantain, Echinacea, and Calendula. This week we moved the thriving Calendula plants up to the orchard/herb garden where they were planted in the ground, and will be carefully tended for the next little while. 🙂

11098998_1564528147129094_8679587939848625048_n

Last year I grew just 2 little calendula plants, and the results were a pretty nice sized bag of flowers {several large handfuls}. This year I’m planting somewhere around 40 plants.

Last year I also grew just 1 lavender, several varieties of peppermint, 1 comfrey, a dozen echinacea, and 1 plantain. This year I’m doing between 40 and 100 of each.

19997_1564528150462427_1539568676706828633_n

I discovered that most of the herbs from last year not only came back, but are thriving bushy, healthy plants – even beginning to spread throughout the garden. Oh joy! I will be watching them to make sure they don’t get over-crowded, and taking cuttings to new places as they expand. I’ve already divided last year’s 2 little arnica plants into nearly a dozen small plants.

10514497_1564528143795761_7617419372622218857_n

I sure love this whole gardening side of things! Our little farm continues to grow and thrive. God is good!

“He watereth the hills from his chambers: the earth is satisfied with the fruit of thy works. He causeth the grass to grow for the cattle, and herb for the service of man: that he may bring forth food out of the earth.” – Psalm 104:13-14

Share your thoughts...

