Lemon Cookies {With Essential Oil}

How about baking with essential oils?

Lavender-Lemon-Cupcakes-large

Last night I had the privilege of sharing on one of my favorite topics, at a store in town. Can I just say something? Essential oils are amazing. Seriously, I mean AMAZING. As I was putting together my talk and grabbing some pictures online I got so excited about just being able to share what I know and what I’m learning about essential oils. Because I really believe that we take them for granted. We way way WAY underestimate how BIG these things are, and the power they have to work healing in the human body. They are such a GIFT from God, and we really should take the time to know more about them.

Not everyone likes the idea of taking essential oils internally.

To be quite honest, I prefer topical application and aromatherapy, over internal use. I just do. Not because it’s not VERY effective, but I don’t especially favor their strength or flavor on my tongue, and I don’t always take the time to put them in a capsule {however, I do recommend all 3 methods of application and have successfully used essential oils internally on many occasions}.

lemon-essential-oil

But what if you could add a few drops to your favorite recipe?  When you consider that 1 drop of peppermint essential oil = 28 cups of leaves … and 1 drop of lemon essential oil is the equivalent of about 20 lemons … think about how amazing your cookies could be if you replaced 3 tablespoons of lemon juice with drops of lemon essential oil?

Yesterday morning I baked up some delicious lemon cookies that I first tried a couple of weeks ago. This time I eliminated the lemon zest, lemon juice, and lemon extract … substituting all of the above with just 6 drops of lemon essential oil.

And guess what I found?

The cookies were WAY better. Oh my, they were absolutely delicious! The flavor was so much better {which is saying a lot because the original recipes was pretty amazing … ask our dear friends who received the better part of the batch!}. They were a huge hit! In fact, those who attended the class each took some home to share with family. So, as requested, I’m sharing the recipe. 🙂

lemon-crinkle-cookies3+srgb.

Lemon Crinkle Cookies

Based off the recipe from Cooking Classy.

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

10 tablespoons butter, softened

1 cup + 2 tablespoons organic sugar

1 large egg yolk

1 large egg

8-12 drops lemon essential oil

2 tablespoons milk

1/3 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients together until thoroughly combined. Shape into 1 1/2 inch balls and roll in powdered sugar. Place on un-greased cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-11 minutes. The top and edges should not be golden brown, but when you slide a spatula underneath the bottoms should be light golden brown. Cool for 5-10 minutes before moving to a cooling rack. Store in airtight container.

Enjoy!

Next up … I hope to make chocolate peppermint brownies using peppermint essential oil. And… if I can bring myself to try rosemary cookies or lavender cupcakes,  I may be posting about it in the near future. 😉

8 thoughts on “Lemon Cookies {With Essential Oil}

  1. I have a lemon cookie recipe I want to try that calls for 1T. lemon zest and 1 1/2t. lemon extract. How many essential oil lemon drops do you think I should sub for this?

    Like

    • The recipe I based mine off of called for 1 Tbsp lemon zest, 1 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice and 3/4 tsp lemon extract. I use 12 drops of essential oil and a few Tbsp milk instead. There is no “right” amount for your recipe, so I recommend you work off of what tastes right to you! If it were me I’d probably put 10-12 drops in your recipe. It sounds fairly close to mine. You can always start with less and taste the dough.
      Please be sure you are using a high quality, pure and chemical-free oil that is safe and beneficial for ingesting.

      Blessings!
      Sarah

      Like

Share your thoughts...

