4 Infection-Preventing Essential Oils

I made the mistake of forgetting to wear socks that day, when we all piled into the car and drove off for a belated-birthday celebration at the ice-skating rink.

After a few hours it felt like I had been rubbed raw, so I took a break to inspect my foot. The first thing that I saw before I got my skate all the way off was a big piece of skin. 😀


This is probably one of the largest, most painful blisters I’ve encountered (with the exception of a few lovely unforgettables, resulting from breaking in new boots on previous backpacking trips 😉). Speaking of which, a couple of days after I rubbed this blister, we took a day trip to the NC mountains and hiked a steep, rugged 8 miles – in preparation for our upcoming Adirondacks trip. Breaking in new boots from the REI garage sale = more blisters for both of us girls {pictures coming soon from our exciting hike!}.

My brother has had a blister get infected, and because of the size of this one and the circumstances surrounding it (how many other people have worn that pair of skates?) I wanted to make sure that didn’t happen to me!

On the way home I applied Healing Salve. Later on at home I washed it and applied Sore Muscle Salve. The following morning I made a blend of essential oils that help cleanse, and prevent infection, and applied those all together to the blister {and surrounding  area}.

4 Infection-Preventing Essential Oils

Tea Tree

Tea Tree is a powerful antibiotic oil often referred to as “the first aid oil”. It is cleansing and disinfecting – great for fungal, bacterial, and viral infections; cracked, rough skin; boils, warts, blisters, athlete’s foot, insect bites, bee stings, acne, varicose veins, dandruff, scarring caused by chicken pox or shingles …

Frankincense

Frankincense is great for the repair or damaged tissue. It helps cleanse and disinfect, fighting against bacteria, fungus and infection. It is anti-inflammatory, helpful in reducing swelling/inflammation, and also bruising. It is also great for preventing scarring.

Purchase Organic Frankincense Essential Oil

Lavender

Lavender is soothing and calming, a natural pain reliever. It is anti-inflammatory, helpful for reducing swelling and inflammation. It encourages quick healing of cuts, wounds, and blisters – especially injuries resulting in open, broken skin. It helps disinfect and fight against infection.

Purchase Organic Lavender Essential Oil

Helichrysum

Helichrysum supports bone, skin and muscle healing. It is cleansing, disinfecting, and purifying – especially great for injuries resulting in broken skin {cuts, wounds, broken blisters, etc.}. It slows the flow of bleeding and encourages quick binding up/healing. It also helps  dry up blisters so that they heal over more quickly.

Application

I applied a mixture of these oils {you can use some or all} several times a day, for 3-4 days until the blister formed a dry hard scab and healed over. And now I’m beginning again with some of the others that resulted from our trip. 🙂

Note: My blister was not bleeding or raw when I applied the oils. A light scab had formed over the area the following day, when I made this blend. 

Below: These are blisters that occurred 1 week later when we took our mountain hiking trip. There were 6 of them between both feet. I used a needle to pop the ones that were still fluid-filled and applied Sore Muscle and Healing Salves to them later on after washing them.

  

 

You can use these infection-fighing essential oils for a variety of small cuts, wounds and other injuries! My Bug Bite Salve {Check out the new and improved recipe!}, Healing Salve, and Sore Muscle Salves all contain some of these oils {or all of the above and more!}, making them easy to apply in a variety of situations.

 

2 thoughts on “4 Infection-Preventing Essential Oils

    • @abjunk there are mixed opinions on whether or not it is a good idea to pop the blister. I just always have, partly because I feel that it heals faster when the fluid is released and healing herbs and oils applied (with a bandage).

      In this case the blister was already popped and rubbed right off (also true with some of the blisters from our hiking trip).

      It also works better for me to pop them just in terms of practically wearing shoes while they heal.

      In most cases it’s probably a good idea just to leave them alone (less risk of infection and scarring) but I’ve always just popped mine if they were not already.

      This post is mainly focused on preventing infection and encouraging healing -especially in the case of the first picture, where the blister was originally open and raw.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

