DIY Soothing Get-Well Drink

Anticipation was building. Excitement was growing.

Our LONG-awaited trip was finally upon us. It was the evening before we were scheduled to head off on our 10 day trip up north !! We had been working out in the mornings for weeks {even months}, gearing up for a 50-mile hike in the rugged Adirondacks of New York.

IMG_5584

It had been 7 years since father and son first ventured out to this “neck of the woods” and came back with glowing reports [it’s been a family tradition that when one of our guys turns 13 he heads off to the Adirondacks with dad for a week long “welcome to manhood” trip – a time when they can work through challenges, spend time together, and talk about what it means to be a Godly man}. And ever since a couple of us girls had been wanting to go…

When you’ve grown up hiking the Smoky Mountains on the TN/NC border, it’s not everyday that you get to actually stand on the top of a mountain and look out over the world. Lol! 🙂 And this was a “once-in-a-lifetime” opportunity {so to say} for us girls.

And then it happened.

That evening I got sick. I had been so good about taking all my wellness remedies up until about a week before. Then things got busy, and while others were quickly recovering from a nasty chest cold that had been going through our home … I let my guard down a little too soon. That evening I started to get a sore/scratchy throat, and sinus issues.

The Wellness Drink

Thanks to the recommendation of a dear friend {and her family}, I quickly made up their delicious wellness drink {in addition to my other favorite remedies and David’s brilliant 5-hour plan}. The following morning my sore throat had not progressed {thankfully} and my sinus problems had turned into a slight congestion {which, trust me is better than blowing your nose all night long lol!}. I was encouraged.

We took off on our trip, wondering all the way up to PA {our stopping point for the night} if I was going to actually head off with the team to the Adirondacks the following morning, or go with the rest of the family to visit with friends in New Hampshire the entire week. I was torn between what to do. I had no idea whether or not my symptoms would persist, or if they would get suddenly worse while I was hiking the Adirondacks {with no way to really treat them or get proper rest, etc.}. But I didn’t want to miss out on this incredible adventure I had been waiting for, simply because “what if” …?! 😛

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By the end of our first day of travels, I was feeling better. I made myself another wellness drink the next morning for breakfast. I can’t tell you how soothing this drink was to my throat that first evening when I made it before bed!

DIY Soothing Get-Well Drink

6 whole raw garlic cloves – you can use less, I have found it is still very effective!

Raw honey {2-3 large spoonfuls}

Cinnamon {I just sprinkled a tiny bit in}

The juice of 2 large lemons

Boiled water

Place the garlic, honey, cinnamon, and lemon juice into a glass quart jar. Pour boiled or very hot water in to fill the jar, then place the lid on and let sit for 20 minutes. Drink the liquid {I typically use less garlic, 1-2 cloves and remove them after about 5 minutes of soaking – as most in my family won’t tolerate the drink as well with a garlic after-taste}.

That’s it! Very simple … adjust the honey if you like to make it a little more or less sweet. Raw honey is amazing for a sore throat and cough. You won’t really taste the garlic {even if you use more cloves it isn’t bad}, and the warm honey lemon liquid is very soothing and yummy.

I can’t believe how amazing the results were! I made one drink the evening before we left for our trip, and another the following morning in our hotel room. From there I had the confidence to head off to the Adirondacks – and I even ate not-so-healthy food for the remainder of the week without the slightest bit of congestion, sore throat, or cold/sick symptoms. God is good!  🙂

Check out the photo album from our trip here.

3 thoughts on “DIY Soothing Get-Well Drink

  1. Wow Sarah, this is just what I need; woke up the other day with a bad sore throat that is still here. I will definately try this out because I will be singing at a assisted living home tomorrow morning and it’s always worse then. Plus, sore throats are unpleasant to have.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! Can’t wait for the ones still coming 🙂 Your wellness drink reminded me of ours, and boy! is it strong, but it does the trick!!

    Nature’s Flu Shot
    Juice of 6 fresh lemons (we do the whole lemon minus the peel)
    1 bulb garlic
    2 tsp. ginger powder
    2 Tbsp. honey
    3 cups pineapple juice
    Blend up and drink!!
    We also add cayenne pepper, spinach, blueberries, and whatever you want!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

