A Grateful Heart

It feels like the past week has been a whirlwind … one million things to remember, write down, work on, complete, check off, and confirm before heading off for the weekend. Ingredients to order, products to make and ship out, stores to restock, emails to reply to, projects to complete, rooms to tidy, things to bake, littles to teach, errands to run … and many other household tasks and family projects.


And then the weekend came and we took time off as a family to drive to Virginia and attend a conference – fellowship, encouragement, prayer, time in the Word, testimonies, singing, exhortation…

As we were driving home last night, I had time to reflect on the week. Hours in the dark and quiet while the others around me slept.

I don’t have pictures from our incredible time this past weekend. I don’t even really have pictures from last week! But I do have memories that I will cherish forever; the reminder of conversations that I had with many people who challenged me in so many ways to live my life more boldly and effectively for Christ. And most importantly, I have a changed heart – a new awareness of specific areas in my life where Father wants me to fully surrender myself to Him; a new love for the people around me that I am to shine the love and light of Christ to; and a deeper sense of gratitude for how very blessed I am.


Blessed.

It doesn’t have to be the huge things. It was lunch out with a brother today, in celebration of him finally having his braces removed … the beautiful metal containers I found in Hobby Lobby for 80% off, that will make incredible gift baskets … a wonderful visit with a friend who came to get some spices, for her first attempt at making elderberry syrup … a sweet heart to heart conversation with a dear friend I have not seen in a very long time … an hour of outdoor games with a group of happy children … time in the car on our long trip home, to pray … and a fun text conversation with a sweet girl {you know who you are ;-)}.

Add to this the blessing of health, family, God’s faithful provision, protection, the beautiful gift of friendship, encouragement and exhortation, answered prayer… and my list is just beginning.
I can hardly believe it’s November. Thanksgiving is fast approaching. But the truth is, there will always be things to give thanks for – no matter what I’m going through, or what I have gone through in the past. His grace is sufficient for today. He is waiting to pour out His blessings on those who will ask and receive with joyful, grateful hearts.

He wants the glory that is due unto His name. This evening my heart is full of gratitude – toward Him. I want to challenge you – give thanks. Make it a daily habit to write down something {or perhaps 5 or 10 things} that you are grateful for at the start of the day.

It truly makes a difference.

One thought on “A Grateful Heart

Share your thoughts...

