Dry Skin?

I don’t know about you, but during the winter I have to take extra measures to prevent dry skin. Dry, as in … the skin around my nose will start to crack, my feet will crack and peel, and it’s not uncommon to come back from a brisk morning walk with red, sore, chapped hands. Add to that an overall dryness of my face and hands.

IMG_0069

During these cold winter months {okay, for all of you northern people I know what you’re thinking … cold? North Carolina doesn’t get cold! LOL!} I can never have too many lotions, butters, and moisturizers – seriously!

Today I thought I’d share some of my favorite products for dry skin!

Healing Salve

MG_9944_grande

Of course. You knew I would put this one first …right? Healing Salve is my go to all year around for just about any type of skin condition. It doesn’t matter if I’m coming in from the garden on a hot Summer day or trying to stay warm on a cold windy night deep in the heart of the Smoky Mountain wilderness. This stuff is fantastic – all-purpose for skin rashes and irritations; dry, chapped and bleeding skin; cuts and minor injuries … It’s the one product I HAVE to have with me ALL the time, WHEREVER I am. 😀 Just sayin’! 😉

Baby Salve

MG_1305_grande

I originally formulated this salve for babies – to help with skin issues, diaper rash, etc. However, I was pleasantly surprised when, at a recent show I attended, an elderly couple came by and started rubbing it on their hands. The wife was ecstatic about how soft her husband’s hands felt after about 60 seconds. She was convinced that the purpose of the salve was to make aging skin feel soft – like baby skin. Viola! Yet another fantastic purpose for this salve. 😀 And it is very moisturizing!

Emu & Helichrysum Moisturizing Cream

MG_9130_grande

My neighbor friend makes this incredible cream – originally formulated for her mom to help with dry, and aging skin. I am constantly amazed at how young her skin looks! Definitely a favorite product of mine because not only does it work wonders on the appearance and health of the skin, but it is the perfect texture and feel – not too greasy, but still very moisturizing. Similar to a shea butter feel.

Unscented Moisturizing Goat Milk Lotion

{Photo by Garland Goat Soap of Vermont}

Unscented-Moisturizing-Goat-Milk-Lotion-600x600

I love this smooth, moisturizing lotion, handmade by friends in Vermont. It’s not overly greasy as a lot of lotions are. It absorbs into the skin quickly and has a fresh, natural scent from the pure ingredients. Great for those who are sensitive to strong fragrances, or are picky about scents.

Calendula Aloe Face & Body Cream

{Photo by Garland Goat Soap of Vermont}

Unscented-Calendula-Aloe-Face-and-Body-Cream-Single-600x600

This is one of my favorite creams to use as a moisturizer after I wash my face each morning and night. It’s not as greasy or oily as the salves {which are much more preferable for chapped hands} and absorbs into my face and legs quickly – resulting in soft, smooth skin.

Whipped Peppermint Cocoa Body Butter

MG_9929_large

“I have to tell you how much I have been enjoying the Peppermint Body Butter from the Country Muffin. The cold, snowy weather of this wonderful season often dries and chaps my skin. In addition to this, throughout the winter months, my family and I join the local indoor pool for swimming, and, as would be expected, the high chlorine concentrate adds to the issue. This year however, before diving in, I have been coating my face and hands in Sarah’s Peppermint Body Butter. Following an hour or more of active swimming, my skin has felt soft, smooth, and delightfully moisturized, with no trace of the former dryness. Not only does the butter smell tasty enough to eat, but it is a formula of natural, healthy ingredients that promote a radiant countenance. I am thrilled with this product and look forward to trying others from the Country Muffin. Thank you so much, Sarah!”  ~ Kathryn

Whipped Lavender Body Butter

MG_1432_grande

Moisturizing Peppermint Lip Balm

MG_7992_grande

This amazing little stick was my “lifesaver” on our annual family backpacking trip 2 years ago. It was freezing COLD, temperatures in the teens at night. Simple tasks like collecting firewood and washing our dishes left us with cracked, bleeding hands and endless small cuts. Our hands and faces were chapped and red from the wind and cold. I discovered that this handy little lip balm was the most AMAZING healing salve for those cuts and cracks. It not only dealt with our red, chapped skin, but brought incredibly quick healing to our injuries!

 

What are some of your favorite products for dry skin?

Get 20% OFF ALL dry skin products + any products under the Salve & Lotion category in my shop!

Code DRYSKIN16 through Tuesday, 1/12/2016.

Shop HERE

Share your thoughts...

