Face to Face With Jesus

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to His cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

And Lord haste the day, when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well (it is well),
with my soul (with my soul),
It is well, it is well with my soul.

– Philip P. Bliss

Sometimes there are no words to express the pain and brokenness inside; no way to hide the emotions from tumbling out. When you see someone so weak and vulnerable – clinging onto life by a thread, suffering from unbearable pain. Someone that you care about.

Today I stood by the bed of a dying friend and held his hand. I sang this hymn with my sister – just the 2 of us with our trembling voices. And I cried a lot.

I thought long and hard throughout today. Because one moment we are rushing about life with a long list of people to meet and tasks to complete … and in the next we are face to face with Jesus. And in that moment will it be well with our souls? With yours and mine?

12814091_1147330755278777_3038989100487939233_n

When we say goodbye, will we be at peace – with Him?

{John 3:16-17; Romans 5:8; Romans 10:9-10; Ephesians 2:8-9}

“No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.”

It is well with my soul. What about yours? And now I am pondering the meaning of today – this very moment. What is it that I’m called to be doing at this very hour with my life? Because 1 hour turns into 24 and a day into a week … and a lifetime.

As a born-again Christian, I want my life to count for Jesus Christ. But more importantly, right now I want today to count for Jesus Christ. And every day going forward.

What are you doing today, that will count for Jesus Christ and all of eternity? Are you ready to meet Him face to face? Is it well with your soul?

Share your thoughts...

