The Medicinal Garden: Tips for the Herb Grower

It’s planting season! I’m loving this amazing weather and taking full advantage of all the warmth and sunshine I can get outdoors – between running my businesses, teaching math, and keeping stores stocked in town!

_MG_1217

I’m such a farm girl. There are few things that appeal as much to me, as heading outdoors in an old jean skirt, rubber boots {or bare feet ;-)} hair tied up … to get my hands in the dirt! I love planting seeds, watering seedlings, plucking weeds from the mulch garden … and especially harvesting fresh juicy vegetables {at the moment it’s huge luscious spinach leaves!} for our table.

11745920_1475818866048718_8683639306720279323_n

This year I made it a goal to grow my herb garden significantly – with hopes of eventually growing the better part of the herbs I use in my product – making. I took the last 2 years to experiment with different types of plants, and get a feel for how well they would grow and what conditions they favored.

Here are some of my observationsย …

  • Calendula Flowersย love the sunshine. While I planted over 70 Calendula seedlings, only about 2 dozen actually produced flowers throughout the Summer – due to the fact that this portion was positioned in a part of my garden that got more direct sunlight.
  • Mint and Lemon Balm don’t just spread – they spread voraciously. They invade. They crawl everywhere. They even send out little shoots underground that come up feet away – in other parts of the yard where you least expect. And if you pull up those tiny plants you can re-position them near your first plantings, or pass them along to friends. ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Arnica is difficult to grow here – even in my mulch garden. While my little plants have persisted throughout all 4 seasons, they aren’t really changing, or growing. They’ve stayed the same. Perhaps I need to change up the location?
  • The more you harvest, the more those plants thrive and grow and produce. Don’t pluck them bare of course … but harvesting stimulates continual new growth – which results in a bigger, better harvest.
  • In addition to Arnica, I learned that Lavender and Echinacea are the most difficult plants for me ย … while everything else seems to grow and thrive just fine on it’s own these 2 have tried my patience with little result. They will be my greatest areas of focus going forward. They are 2 very valuable plants to me – and therefore my desired choice for study.
  • Some of my easiest herbs {in terms of little care and abundant harvest} have been Feverfew, Plantain Leaf, Calendula Flowers, Comfrey, and anything that spreads {chamomile, Yarrow, Lemon Balm, Mint}.
  • When positioned carefully and controlled {beware of how closely you position self-spreading plants}, the herb garden can become a truly beautiful place! Add to that the multitude of benefits provided through these healing plants!

IMG_7878

This year I’m growing: Feverfew, Soapwort, Lemon Balm, Self Heal, St. John’s Wort, Peppermint, Spearmint, Yarrow, Calendula, Lavender, Sage, Chives, Arnica, Comfrey, Plantain, Chamomile and Echinacea.

What are some of your favorite herbs to grow?

 

Share your thoughts...

