Sweet Pickles {Recipe}

I favor sour pickles over sweet.

In fact, give me a jar of those little crunchy ones and I’ll eat the whole thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

If there’s one thing we get PLENTY of each year, it would be fresh, homegrown cucumbers. And with this year’s ABUNDANCE, I finally set aside some time {at the request of a few family members} to make sweet pickles. This was my 3rd try at pickle-making and oh joy! I definitely approve of this recipe. I found it buried in the depths of my very first {scrapbooked} recipe organizer – from my Nana’s sister who served them to us when I was all of 7 or 8 years.

โค

Aunt Betty’s Frozen Cucumber Pickles

7 cups sliced cucumbers

1 cup sliced onion

1/4 cup un-iodized salt

Wash and drain the cucumbers well. Place onions and cucumbers in a mixing bowl. Sprinkle with salt. Let stand for 1 hour, then rinse well and drain.

Mix together in a saucepan:

2 cups sugar

1 cup white vinegar

1 tsp celery salt

1 tsp mustard seed

Bring to a boil. Pour over the cucumber/onion/salt mixture {I actually used a pot large enough to pour the cucumbers/onions into}.

Let stand overnight, or approximately 10 hours.

Put into jars, leaving approximately 1″ expansion room at the top.

Freeze. Ready to eat in 24 hours.

That’s it! So simple – and so delicious!

โค

3 thoughts on “Sweet Pickles {Recipe}

    • @Elizabeth I freeze the pickles instead of canning them. You can remove a jar 24 hours prior to serving them. There’s no specific purpose to keeping them in the freezer except to prevent them from spoiling.

      Like

      • Thank you!
        We just installed a new stove with an induction cooktop and I’ve been wary of canning.

        This sounds like a great way to have pickles and not have to worry about canning.

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

