The Secret Place

The words to this lovely song have been on my mind all throughout the week … and this evening as we sang them at church, my heart was filled of JOY by these beautiful truths.

I am reminded of one of my favorite passages of Scripture – Psalm 91:1 says “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the Most High, shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty”.

In my mind, I picture the sweetness of an intimate relationship that is un-phased by the world around. Others may look on and observe, but how can they fully understand the depth of the trials I am facing, the pain I am enduring, the difficulty of the battles I am fighting? Yet neither will they know in full the love that I and my Savior have for each other – the reality of how strong and securely rooted in Him I am, so that as Romans 8:38-39 says – NOTHING can separate me from my Father’s love. He is mine, and I am His.

12814091_1147330755278777_3038989100487939233_n

Praise the Lord, that ALL of His children may come to rest in that secret place. That relationship between  our Heavenly Father and His children – no other human relationship or mountaintop experience in this world has, or ever will compare.

The Secret Place

By Cheryl Reid & Ron Hamilton

 

Verse 1:

I’ve found a secret place, of comfort and release;

A special place of healing, a quiet place of peace;

And every one who dwells there, finds rest beneath God’s wings;

In the shade of His pavilion, new strength He always brings.

 

Chorus:

I find hope, I find grace, far away from the world’s embrace;

He give me rest, He keeps me safe, I find His strength, I seek His face;

In the secret place.

 

Verse 2:

With every trial He brings, my Lord will make a way;

To strengthen and protect me, to help me face each day;

He leads me through the valley, to draw me closer still;

Knowing even in the shadows, I find His perfect will.

 

Chorus.
Verse 3: (by Sarah Stelzl)

With prayer on bended knee, I come dear Lord to Thee;

I lay my life before you, Transform my heart anew;

In Christ I’ll claim my victory, by faith I know it’s true;

Even when my heart is doubting, I know You love me still.

 

Chorus:

I find hope, I find grace, Far away from the world’s embrace;

(You) give me rest, (You) keep me safe, I find (Your) strength, I seek (Your) face;

In the secret place.

In the secret place.

 

“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the Most High, shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.” – Psalm 91:1

 

P.S. Here’s a video recording of the song we sang for church.

Share your thoughts...

